Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, among children, an increasing amount of time is being allocated to use the smartphone, a phenomenon which sparkles fierce debate. The reasons behind this are multiple. First, a large portion of children spend time on mobiles for pastimes, like browsing social media, talking with friends and playing electronic games. Besides, these days, cell phones are necessary for youngsters to do their homework, as more and more places are utilizing the method of online teaching. From my personal perspective, the potential damage of this outweighs the positive outcome it can bring. To begin with, frequently using smartphones is detrimental to juveniles’ health. It is common knowledge that staring at cell phones for a long time without relaxation can impair people’s eyesight. Worse still, with the prevalence of electronic games, the traditional outdoor activities that include running and taking in the fresh air are no longer deemed significant in children ’s mind. Instead, they can lead a sedentary life, sitting in one place playing on their mobiles without moving. This does no good in helping them build strong hearts and lungs and has a negative impact on their spines. In addition to this, using smartphones hinders the ability of the youngsters to concentrate. While children are doing exercises online, there are many factors that serve as a distraction to them. And because cell phones are right in their hand, it is simple for them to stop in the middle and turn to other more attractive things on mobiles, for instance, their favourite online pages, resulting in procrastination and lagging behind schedule. In conclusion, children spend much time on their mobiles every day for fun or for study, and in my opinion, this is definitely a negative development.