Some people believe that it is important for children not to play video games but to spend time outdoors. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In today's technological society, video games have made their way into youth culture. However, developmental psychologists highly emphasise the importance of outdoor activities. Even if the mental and educational benefits of video games can be achieved, outdoor activities play a dominant and primary role in a child's physical and social development. From a psychological point of view, online games can serve as a means of relaxation and stress relief, especially during difficult times in life. When placed in a virtual environment, children can forget the pressures and responsibilities of school and home. From an educational point of view, video games usually help children to develop invaluable technical skills. Children who enjoy video games can develop a wide range of technical skills, such as typing, coding and programming, as they spend an enormous amount of time at the computer. These skills are essential for success in today's employment world, where technology-savvy and skilled staff are highly valued. However, outdoor games are more important for children's holistic development. Firstly, unlike video games, which encourage a sedentary lifestyle, outdoor games often contribute to a healthy lifestyle.By engaging in active activities such as hiking or walking in the park, children can improve cardiorespiratory and metabolic function, strengthen the immune system, burn calories and manage their weight effectively. As a result, the likelihood of developing chronic diseases such as diabetes is reduced. In addition to its health benefits, physical activity contributes to the social development of children.Through team sports and games such as football and basketball, children can develop interpersonal skills such as communication, co-operation, negotiation and conflict resolution. These skills are very useful for the development of personal and professional relationships in later life. In conclusion, given the fact that video games can contribute to emotional and educational development, children should make time for these activities. However, outdoor play plays a more important role in the enrichment of children, enhancing their physical health and social literacy. Therefore, parent-teachers need to work together to create an environment that promotes and encourages physical activity.