Plagiarism in academics has become a pressing problem in many countries today. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

Lately, there has been a growing issue of students copying in academia around the world. This essay will discuss the main reasons for this development and then provide some recommendations at the end. To begin with, one of the major reasons for this trend is the lack of supervision by official authorities. For instance, if schools are not regularly scrutinising every submitted assignments by students, especially the digital assignments, then plagiarism is bound to rise. Also, another reason why students are often copying is because they are not afraid of doing it. That is schools do not provide any harsh punishment for this act in order to instill fear among the pupils. So, the clear abundance of supervision and consequential actions by the authorities is resulting in the growth of cheating in academia. Nevertheless there are various solutions to combat this rising problem. First, academic institutions should rely on technology more and subscribe to all the latest plagiarism detectors online. Schools should make digital assignments compulsory and mark every assignments with the aid of online detectors. Second, institutions should place stricter sentences for anyone who copies off another without crediting their work. For example, if the sentence is immediate expulsion then all individuals should be deterred from submitting uncredited work. As a result of such recommendations, there should be an eventual decline in this trend. In conclusion, the rise of uncredited academic submissions is a serious worldwide issue at the moment. This is due to a lack of supervision and punishments; however, with the help of online detectors and harsher sentences, establishments can battle against this problem.