Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays environmental issues are drawing an increasing amount of attention, as the significance of protecting our mother nature become widely acknowledged. However, there are still different opinions about what should be the centre of it, which sparkles heated debates. According to some, these days the alarmingly rapid speed of extinction of wild species is the main problem to be tackled, given our current development. With the knowledge of the vital importance of wildlife expanding rapidly, more and more have realized that we can’t survive without our animal and plant friends. Besides, thanks to advanced technological development, humans already have appropriate resources and means to better study and understand wild species, with the aim of protecting them. So now is the best time to consider curbing the worrying rate of extinction of wild animals. However, other people argue that the priority should not be given to saving wildlife, as now there are more urgent matters confronting us. It is reasonable to think that many fundamental issues have not been well tackled, like the overwhelming amount of contamination and the underlying threat of climate change. These problems are much more pressing because human life is directly affected by them every day, and if they cannot be solved, the effort to save living beings will be in vain as they are also the victims of those. Hence it is sensible to focus more on those instead of hurriedly trying to protect wild animals first. From my personal perspective, it should always be borne in mind the trouble wild species face and the significance of rescuing them. But other environmental problems are of equal importance. We should attempt to deal with them at the same time, with equal effort, instead of prioritizing one over another.