Nowadays anyone can post news on the internet. As a result, we cannot trust information we read there. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Being critical towards information online is a crucial skill to learn since the internet is filled with news posted by anybody. However, I do think, that a lot of information found online is trustworthy for various different reasons and it's not true that we cannot trust anything we read online just because it is not verified by the government. Having the chance to publish real-life footage from the events such as natural disasters or strikes, gives people the possibility to view those events from different perspectives. Often, news sources provided by the official governmental institutions are biased or one-sided, in terms of their opinion, and, therefore, they do not show events at the fullest. People are able to critically observe the situation and form their opinions based on different narrators on the internet. Moreover, the biggest newspapers, which are considered trustworthy, cannot as quickly update certain events as internet platforms such as social media, where individuals are posting in real-time. Moreover, the internet makes it possible to hear the voices of the minority groups such as indigenous culture representatives, disabled people or immigrants, because the information there is not as filtered as it is in the newspapers. Furthermore, newspapers or information provided on TV is limited in space and time and as a result, some of the important pieces of information are simply not given to the people. Staying up to date is more accurate online. To conclude, although it is important to stay critical towards the things we read online, in my opinion, news sources such as social media can give more accurate, not biased, and more complex information to people since it is not as filtered as it is in other sources. People are given the possibility to form their own opinions.