Some people say that government should increase the tax on petrol in order to decrease traffic and pollution. Do you agree with this opinion?

The advancement of modern metropolis is often accompanied by increasing issues such as traffic jams and air pollution. To deal with these concerns, many people come up with the suggestion that government should increase petrol tax. I am inclined to stand with the opponents. To begin with, traffic issue is undoubtedly a prevalent problem faced by various urben centers worldwide. Citizens decide to own a car due to the inconvinence of public transportation or simply because it does not impose a significant financial burden. Although increasing petrol tax seems like a direct solution, I believe that this may give rise to other concerns. Life in the city is already stressful with immense amount of pressure given by work and family. People struggle to meet both ends because of the high expenditure of basic necessities. Increasing petrol tax, therefore, is certainly an extra burden for the general public. Global warming, on the other hand, is another pressing issue, and it is remarkably contributed by exhaust emissions from metropolitan areas. As a result, many governments have also considered increasing taxes on petrol with hope to reduce gas requirement. While this might lead to a positive outcome in terms of improving air pollution concern, I personally believe that there are better approaches. For instance, the government can encourage the use of electric vehicles by reducing taxes for its ownership. They can also promote the use of public transport by lowering the price. These strategies may not only address air pollution, but also benefit the general public. In conclusion, although increasing petrol tax might be considered as the easiest approach, I believe that encouraging the use of green energy and public transport are better solutions to traffic and pollution problems.