Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other. Others argue that people have become more independent. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Modernisation has brought changes into our lives, and while some people argue that it has caused even more dependency on each other, I strongly think that we are more independent than we have ever been. With the prices that have skyrocketed in the past years, I do understand the concern among people since it has become more problematic for young people to move out on their own. Money earned in part-time jobs while studying is not enough to pay rent, therefore, until graduation, parents are taking care of their children, which is causing a clear dependence between family members. Furthermore, many people delegate their daily shores to outsource services to do, for instance, cleaning, repairing, and gardening. Previously, people have been dealing with those on their own, but now with busy lives, it has become easier to have somebody to help. As a result, we are more dependent on these kind of businesses. Those changes should be taken into consideration, however, they are not as significant as the things providing unprecedented independence for modern people. Having internet access, which was non-existent in the old days, we have the opportunity to complete various tasks more efficiently, whether they are related to taxes, working or even shopping. Therefore, people are not dependent on the environment they are in, and have the chance to travel and work from anywhere in the world. Moreover, due to changes in social structures, people are not dependent on their social status, therefore, they are able to make their own decisions, and choose whom to marry or where to work or study. All these things have significantly improved our independence and created the opportunity to develop our own unique personalities. To conclude, although people are still in some ways dependent on each other, modernisation has brought significant improvements in our independence thanks to the internet and changes in social structures. Therefore, I strongly think that individuals do not rely on each other as much as they used to.