Government spending on restoration of old buildings in cities should be stopped. Instead they should spend the money for housing and road development. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion asserting that official authorities should inhibit allocating budget to keeping old constructions in urban areas. Instead, they should allocate it to accommodation and the road network expansion. While the old constructions can be advantageous in some cases, I would argue that the latter policies benefit a wide range of populace in the society. The main advantage of old buildings is that they can serve as an extra source of income. In fact, should the government want to achieve economic growth, they may be required to develop the tourist industry to increase annual income, because of which the old constructions in urban areas are highly likely to be a tourist attraction. In other words, when officials preserve them effectively via facilities and financial support, these costs can be returned in the form of admission fees on the condition that a great number of people visit these old places, albeit in the long run. For example, studies suggested that Vietnam provided a large proportion of national income with the tourist industry relating to the old monuments. Notwithstanding, several plans to consume the public budget should be taken into consideration. Initially, due to liberally expanded housing, people will have more opportunities to have accommodation over their whole life, thus eliminating rental payments from the costs of living in urban areas. Moreover, because either building houses or roads will require different infrastructures, especially human resources, this plan can create job opportunities for people, followed by a decrease in the level of unemployment. Ultimately, as building roads across a country can connect different regions away from each other, transportation will become an expanded network with a higher level of speed and safety, leading to satisfaction of a prerequisite for economic progress. In conclusion, although a few benefits may be recognized to preserving the old places, it is vitally crucial to build accommodation and roads, which can result in a welfare system and economic growth.