Some people think that children should learn world history. Others believe that it is more important to learn the history of their own country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

History is an important subject to learn at school, however, there is a debate about whether children should study world history or just the one consider their own country. In my opinion, both are equally important for one's development and understanding of the world. Often schools' history classes touch upon the past of the country, which in my opinion is crucially important because it makes children more rooted in their own culture. By understanding the past, a person gets a deeper understanding of the roots of different traditions, laws and norms, and therefore, creates a deeper connection and respect towards the country and what it has already achieved or on the contrary, learns about the mistakes made. However, often, these stories of the past are not given a proper context regarding other conflicts or happenings in other parts of the world that may have provoked their appearance in one's own region. Therefore, taking into account other main historical events and getting a complex understanding of them is vital in educational institutions. Moreover, it is important for children to generate more awareness about other nationalities to learn about cultural differences, thus teaching them how to be more sensitive and respectful towards others. Learning about how other countries have dealt with similar problems provides offspring with insights on how to further develop situations back home by learning through those examples or mistakes. To conclude, both world history as well as one about one's culture are beneficial for offspring when combined together since learning only about one's own country neither provides a complex understanding of events nor provides the opportunity to learn from the mistakes of others.