The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones. What problems can this create ? What are some solutions?

Indeed, fierce competition in the job market between older people and their younger counterparts has become an increasingly widespread concern. Several problems have resulted from this tendency and they should be tackled by many effective solutions from both individuals and the government. Competing with the young, the older generation has to face two main issues. Firstly, due to age discrimination, older people often suffer more disadvantages when seeking the same positions as young candidates, even when they have similar abilities and qualifications. As a result, a number of them become unemployed, which prevents them from meeting basic human needs. Secondly, old employees might be under strong pressure, stemming from the fact that their young colleagues seem to be more creative and adapt themselves to change at the workplace more easily than they could. This may lead to both physical and psychological problems, including heart disease and depression. Since such issues are serious, the government and individuals should take steps immediately to address these problems. The first solution is that the government should encourage enterprises to protect employees who are 40 years old or more from employment discrimination based on age. As a result, they would be given greater opportunities to seek suitable jobs and earn a living. On an individual level, older workers should be willing to update their skills through attending training courses. If younger colleagues also help them to adapt to changes in the working environment, older workers will gain confidence and improve their work performance. In conclusion, there are various negative consequences of increasing rivalry between the old and the young in the job market and appropriate steps need to be taken to tackle these problems, not only by the government by also by individuals.