Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale, while others believe it is better to deal with them nationally. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some believe that environmental issues should be addressed globally, whereas others think they should be faced in national and local level. In the remainder of this essay both points of view will be explored and a logical conclusion will be drawn at the end. Climate change is an issue worldwide with consequences for all humans, plants and animals. Firstly, the burning fossil fuels is the main source of energy for industries and transportation and it is identified as the main cause of global warming. What is more, The United Nations leads the efforts to reduction and mitigation of greenhouse gases. For instance, for any country member of this organization, it is mandatory to present a report of emissions and mitigation every two years. This information could help to predict futures impacts on ecosystems. Clearly, global agreements play a critical role in stopping climate change. The consideration of both National and local scales is essential in solving environmental issues. To begin with, the consequences of air and water pollution have a direct impact on communities. Furthermore, local communities can lead actions to protect natural resources. For intance, in Ecautorian’s Amazon, indigenous communities started a legal proceeding against an oil company with the support of national government. Because in 2022 hundreds of liters of oil leaked into the forest and polluted their sources of water and cause severed damages to their livelihood. So, national and local actors can work together to solve environmental problems. In conclusion, I believe that to address environmental challenges different scales should be involved because all tiers have the potencial to develop solutions.