Some school are very strict about their school uniforms and the appearance of their pupils, While other schools have a very relaxed dress code. (What are the advantages and disadvantages of children of having a school uniform?)

While there are many schools impose learners to wear a certain dress code, other schools give students the freedom to wear whatever they want. This essay will discuss the merits as well as the demerits of wearing uniforms at schools. On one hand,wearing a specific dress could play a pivotal role in radiating a feeling of equality among students. In other words, many young students come from poor families where purchasing clothes, regularly, might put financial burdens on them. Thus, having a unified cloth will help those youngsters to feel that they are just equal to others. For instance, in Iraq, a number of teachers have noticed a significant reduction in the discrimination level between pupils, after imposing a specific dress code for each school. What can be said here is that dress code may have an indispensable impact on students ' behaviors, and will give them a sense of equality. One the other hand, despite the above-mentioned point, it can still be claimed that having a strict uniform regulation could negatively affect learners' psychological health. To illustrate, enforcing unified clothes with certain designs and colours will activate a feeling of restriction. Accordingly, young students might feel that they have been deprived from their liberty to wear what they want. Eventually, some psychological illnesses such as anxiety and depression will be emerged, and the prime culprit is the sensation of restraint and restriction. This can be exemplified by a survey conducted by a group of Iraqi civil society activists that showed about two-thirds of pupils feeling pressured because of their strict uniforms. This example shows that giving pupils the autonomy to choice their own clothes will have a positive effect on their mentality. In conclusion, after this essay has reiterated the above-mentioned points, it can be assumed that although embracing homogenous clothes may assist in limiting social inequalities, it could also restrain students freedom, simultaneously.