In many professional sports, there is an increase in the numbers of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions.

There is an increasing number of athletes who compete at the professional Level that use illegal substances affecting their performance. This may be caused by the lack of knowledge of sport performers. Therefore in this essay I will point out the importance of nutritionists to be involved at the professional level of sport business. To begin with, many athletes are not well informed or have round knowledge about specific chemicals in the supplements they consume. In many cases, supplement products experiment by making a new mix of sport drinks or foods, adding extra ingredients without specifying their nutrition facts. On the other hand, information about banned specific substances does not include information about brands. We can see this in the case of steroids that are broken down into smaller chemicals called protein acid and mixed with some sports coffee brands that not many sports enthusiasts are aware of. This gap of information makes individual athletes unable to catch up with the rules that govern their consumption that in the long run those banned substances are already entering their body and affecting their performance. Furthermore, we need professional nutritionists to be involved in high level sportsmanship. Since they have round knowledge in the field of consumed substances, they can gave professional advices about specific chemicals that athletes should not consumed, moreover they have knowledge about how to consume any beverages on a better way such as best time to drink coffee, how to maximize caloric intake of an individual so that can boost the athletes performance. Their involvement will shed light to many sport-performers about their consumption so athletes can focus on their game and physical training. In conclusion, as the legendary martial art master, Bruce lee, coined, ‘ we are what we eat’, We, especially athletes, have to be aware of what they consume as our daily performances are determined by substances that we intake. Therefore we must value the advice of a professional nutritionist and incorporate their knowledge into the athlete’s daily and professional’s life.