Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Other believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no denying that some college students are divided in their opinion regarding learning more than one qualification and pursuing a single subject. These two different perspectives are more or less affected by their passion which leads to determining their role in society. Generally speaking, having more than 2 experts could enrich our impact in pursuing our career path. Furthermore, understanding lots of fields is essential to becoming a significant leader. For example, when I attended a global conference two months ago, one of the speakers was the CTO of Alibaba and he emphasized that generalists are much more needed in the future. He gave an example of his impact when leading Alibaba with expertise in technology and business that resulted in the company’s achievement. In return, his initiatives successfully received more funding from investors that contributed to Alibaba’s financial sustainability. Likewise, becoming an expert in a specific subject helps us to maintain consistency in one dedicated role. Moreover, it is worth considering that being a specialist is much easier to receive trust in a more advanced position. For instance, I met a senior HR at the company’s event and she has been pursuing a human resource role since she graduated from university. Until today, she is being trusted with chief level position due to her more than 10 years’ experience in the human resource field. Overall, both generalists and specialists are always an option for students in deciding their interests and future roles in society. Either studying various subjects or focusing on one field has the same level of importance which will shape us to pursue a desired role with a broader impact in the future.