Nowadays, animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that medicines and other products are routinely tested before they are cleared for human use. While some people argue that animal testing is morally wrong and believe that a ban on this practice is necessary out of humanitarian considerations, others, myself included, believe that animal experimentation is crucial for the development of medicines, together with appropriate policies about research to protect animals ethically. Granted, opponents of animal testing for medical research may argue that humans have no right to subject animals to this kind of trauma and that the lives of all creatures should be respected. They say that animals, like humans, are sentient beings capable of experiencing pain, fear and suffering and that there is no reason to implement the practice of violating the parts of the animal body for research. They believe that the benefits to humans do not justify the suffering caused and that scientists should use alternative methods of research. Notwithstanding the aforementioned arguments, I would contend that it is a necessary evil to do medical research because of the benefits to humanity. Such research is of paramount importance to medical advancements. Without these kinds of practices, many breakthroughs in healthcare would have been unattainable, potentially costing countless human lives. Take the pandemic Covid-19 two years ago as an example; a range of experiments was conducted on laboratory mice in an attempt to invent a vaccine countering the deadly virus, supporting medical scientists to apply this kind of vaccine to humans confidently. This is in tandem with the fact that many countries have established strict ethical guidelines and regulations governing animal testing, which aims to minimize animal suffering and ensure that such experiments are conducted only when absolutely essential. In conclusion, while there are justifications to advocate the banning of animal testing due to humanitarian purposes, I side with those who are convinced that the merits of this practice are great.