Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s interconnected society, there is a prevailing proposition that governments instead of private companies, should be responsible for scientific research. With this, I completely agree. There are several supporting reasons, one of which is that authority agencies are more appealing to scientific talents. That is because researchers who work for governments are authorized to utilize resources and technologies nationwide. Some rare resources and cutting-edge technologies, which are exclusive to government sectors, are not accessible to privatized enterprises. With this superiority, scientific breakthroughs are more achievable. As a result, it is much easier and faster for scientists to witness their endeavours contributing to the public and to have a sense of achievement. This is why outstanding scientists are more willing to work for states. Another underlying factor is that authority control of scientific investigation can better benefit the entire association. To be more specific, the primary obligation of countries is to guarantee the welfare and safety of citizens. When investigation is conducted under government control, it is more likely to prioritize research projects that are of substantial benefit to society. For example, government-funded exploration often focuses on domains such as healthcare, education and environmental sustainability. However, profit might take priority of private companies over public interest. Consequently, the whole society can benefit more directly from the scientific study implemented by governments. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned arguments, I agree that scientific research should be conducted by states instead of private companies as this will attract more talented scientists to achieve more significant outcomes which prioritize public interest.