Some people think that it is fine for professional sportsmen and sportswomen to misbehave on or off the field, as long as they are playing well. Others think that they should act politely in all circumstances. Discuss both sides of the argument and give your opinion.

Over the last few decades, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of individuals questioning behaves of professional athletes. Some people believe that arrogance and unprofessionalism can be forgiven, if player demonstrates the game winning performance. While, others, including myself, argue that sportsmanship on and off the pitch should be the main value for professional sportsmen. Many people suggest that there is no problem in sportsman’s misbehaves. Proponents of this view may suggest that if sportspeople are able to win titles and perform good results, society should be indulgent for their hooliganism. Abovementioned way of thinking was demonstrated regarded to football icon – Maradona in the 90s. Despite the fact that Maradona was suspended in the usage of cocaine and relations with the criminal gang, football fans did not stop to support the legend and considered him as a God of football. On the other hand, I am in agreement with those who believe that athletes have to demonstrate sportsmanship no matter where they are. Nowadays, sportspeople are not only athletes, they are also influencers in social media, who has thousands of youth followers and fans. Every act of misbehave can be understood as value by young generation. For this reason, disrespectfulness for the opponent or arrogance should not be welcomed from society members. In conclusion, whereas many believe that sport athletes should be free from social blaming for their bad behaves, I side with those who suggest that it is vital to be kind and calm inside and outside of the field for professionals. It is extremely beneficial for sportspeople themselves and supporter youngsters.