The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

It is obvious that while some people know what the dangers of smoking are, they still continue with this bad habit. In this article, I will set forth the reasons as well as some solutions to reduce smoking in society. The main cause might be peer pressure. The youngsters start smoking from a young age in order to keep pace with their friends. Thus, many smokers become addicted when they are teenagers, and this usually happens in high schools. For example, if one student is not inclined towards smoking, he might be bullied, and in order to prevent this reaction he just fires one cigar, and the story begins. Another cause might be the soothing effect this can possess. Whenever a person lights a cigarette, he becomes more relaxed so he smokes more and more. This effect is attributed to nicotine, a chemical compound in cigars. However, after a while, the body is accustomed to it and needs more. For instance, an individual would start with 1 cigarette per day, and this would turn into a pocket just 1 year after. In order to reduce this behaviour, we have to focus on children and adolescents. Teachers have a significant role since they have to keep an eye on children, and address any problem. Then, parents have to be informed of their children's addiction, and take proper steps in order to solve it. Asking for help from consultants is another solution. Another recommendation is to use nicotine-free alternatives, or write slogans on the boxes. It would assist in the reduction of addicted people through indirect means. For instance, when one is driving home, he might see a billboard with this message: you will not suffer alone. I believe that they think about these messages because everyone likes his babies. To sum up, I think that this complication originates from schools, thus, everyone has to be careful of any misbehaviour. In addition, as the body needs more nicotine, smokers have to smoke more and more. But, we have to educate them, and warn them that they are responsible for the health of their children