Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Most kids nowadays have hours of screen time on their smartphones on a daily basis. This phenomenon is completely different than in the past when children were spending most of their moment in the playground and had a direct interaction with their surroundings. Just as the shifting behaviour happened, I believe that the existence of smart devices could be a negative influence in terms of children’s social skills development. Initially, the amusing features installed in the smartphone are the main reason that has been attracting kids. These entertainments are easily accessible as children grow with high curiosity to try new things that are desirable, such as listening to music, watching YouTube for kids, and playing a broad range of games. Thus, it is undeniable that smartphones win a child’s heart in the first place. As an effect, kids are being taken away from socializing as it is important to grow the social skills that can’t be found in smartphones. Children need to socialize with their peers and elder people in various circumstances to drive their emotional stability. As an example, my five-year-old cousin used to have a high screen time on her smartphone due to COVID-19 conditions that required us to stay at home during the pandemic. This behaviour has a major impact on her unstable emotions compared to her older brother who socialized more at similar age. In summary, children’s behaviour has undoubtedly shifted because they spend most of their interaction on smartphones. Unless preventive steps are taken, the negative impact could be worsening the development of their social skills. Thus, decreasing kids ’ hours spent on smart devices each day will help limits the negative impact on their social ability.