With the rise in popularity of the Internet, newspapers will soon become a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often thought that the Internet will replace the newspapers. In my opinion, I agree with this view because it is convenient, affordable, and environmentally friendly. Firstly, getting the news by using mobile phones is much easier compared to reading the newspaper. In other words, people who have access to the Internet can get the information that they want anytime and anywhere. Nevertheless, if people want to read the newspaper, they often go to the nearest shop, which can be troublesome. For example, on a rainy day, it would be much easier for people to get to know the news around the world through social media rather than having a hard copy of the newspaper. Secondly, companies will save a large amount of money. That is to say, by using the online platform, they will not spend a lot of money to print newspapers and deliver them to their destination. As a result, several companies have started to reduce the number of news publications and focus on online news, such as BBC, Daily News and The Sun. Finally, the Internet has helped the environment to be preserved because it avoids environmental problems, such as deforestation. In the past, when the Internet was not well developed, most publication companies relied heavily on paper to share the news with the public, and this was one of the reasons why many trees were cut. To illustrate, in Saudi Arabia, many companies have switched to online news with the aim of protecting the environment. To sum up, while people may vary in their opinion, I believe that by using the Internet, both companies and individuals will stop spending unnecessary money and save the environment. If all countries band using newspapers, the nature would improve.