Some people say that students who achieve the highest scorer in their exams should be rewarded. Others say that those who show progress should be rewarded instead. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an emerging discussion regarding the evaluation of examinee in their test. While some educationalist advocates for rewarding grade for the students who get the highest score, others advocate for recognizing the gradual progress of the students. The essay aims to highlight both the views and give a concluding opinion. Those who support the evaluation of uppermost grading system have some strong arguments in favour of their view. First of all, if the pupils with great results in their examination get an appreciation for their achievement, it will eventually motivate others to work hard to acquire the similar result. This will have an impact on the overall success of the institution. Furthermore, the proponents of the concerned view often cite examples from the developed countries like USA and Canada where the topper students get financial rewards based on their academic results. Such types of scholarships give the graduates relief in managing their educational costs and enable their parents to save some money from their budget. To the supporters of the idea, these arguments are enough convincing. However, those who advocate for highlighting the progress report instead of grading system for evaluation of students have some strong arguments in their favor. At the very first point, they see the marking process as a compulsive system for the infants as they have to take so much pressure to get the highest mark from their parents and teachers at the initial stage of their education life. This has been demonstrated by several scientific research that excessive burden of education may have detrimental effect on physical and mental development of the youngsters. By contrast, if the assessment take place on the continuous development of the learners, this would guide the teachers to monitor them more effectively. To conclude, to lessen the mountainous burden of achieving best grade in the test, the process of monitoring the constant advancement of the students should be encouraged.