Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Governments are becoming aware of the environmental problems caused by transport pollution. Therefore, it is proposed to invest in public transport systems as well as reduce the ticket price to greatly decrease the pollution. In my opinion, those methods are beneficial, however, they will not solve the core of the problem. First of all, I agree that such investments will enable us to lower the prices, which, as a consequence, will attract more citizens to choose buses or other means of transportation over their private cars, which are one of the biggest causes of pollution. Moreover, investments can be made to develop new ecological transportation vehicles such as electric buses and trams, which are more environmentally friendly. Nevertheless, such changes are not enough to solve or greatly affect the amount of pollution caused by transport. Although the prices may be attractive, most people will still stick to their routine of driving on a daily basis. I assume, that investing not only in the systems but also in the infrastructure in the cities, for instance, creating roads for bicycles, will get people to choose more ecological options, thus reducing the amount of unnecessary driving. Another idea is to raise awareness about the environmental effects of driving and promote actively the alternative version to diesel cars, the electric ones. To conclude, investing in public transport systems as well as reducing the prices is not enough to solve the problem of pollution. Those are effective only when combined with other solutions such as developing the infrastructure and promoting electric cars.