If people go to live in another country, they should follow local customs and traditions.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our increasingly globalized world, many individuals choose to live in countries other than those in which they were born and raised. While they remain foreigners on the consanguinity level, I firmly agree with the notion that if people settle down abroad, it is necessary for them to follow local customs and traditions, and I do believe that the benefits of doing so far outweigh the benefits of acting contrarily. On the one hand, it is undeniable that not complying with traditional rituals is not completely without profitable factors. First and foremost, celebrating their original festivals and sticking to the traditional celebrations of their home countries would not only remind them of their love for it and their true identities but also promote intercultural communications, breaking the boundaries between their original lifestyles and the native practices. Moreover, learning about a previously completely unacquainted cultural content may take up huge chunks of time. With so many things associated with migration to take care of, like decorating the house and finding a new job, it will be easier to manage if people don’t have to learn the local customs and traditions as well. However, the advantages of abiding by local customs and traditions are much greater than that of not acting as such. To begin with, the process of adapting to the practices of the indigenous norms contributes to the broadening of the horizons of these immigrants and the enhancement of their cognitive abilities, including improved memory and superior multi-tasking abilities. Besides, successfully integrating into the life of the area in question is largely attributed to the migrant’s active learning of the native culture, which results in friendlier neighbourhood relationships and makes the emigres more competitive in the employment market. With all of this achieved, the job of governing the community is likely to be made much easier, leading to a more harmonious, cohesive and interconnected society. In conclusion, I can understand the reasons why some people are unconcerned about following local customs and traditions after moving to a foreign country, but I would argue that the experience facilitates their personal growth and the prosperity of the targeted neighbourhood to a large extent. Therefore, I agree with this proposal.