Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important. Discuss both views.

In this day and age, it is believed/argued by some that keeping animals in zoos is unethical while others think that zoos can serve as places to entertain people and protect animals. Although the former view may be true to a certain extent, I personally believe that zoos may have benefits in terms of providing entertainment for people and protection for animals. On the one hand, there are certain reasons why keeping animals in zoos is wrong. The first reason is that the animals which are kept in the zoos may not be able to adapt to living in captivity. This is mainly because living in a small place will make them get stressed and feel imprisoned. Also, the animals which are kept in zoos will lose their survival instinct. The second reason is that animal’s exploitation can occur in zoos. Therefore, there may be many negative effects on animals ’ health. For example, in many zoos, zoo owners serve their tourists by making elephants or ostriches carry tourists on their back. As a consequence, many elephants and ostriches in zoos have scoliosis. On the other hand, it is my firm belief that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically significant. To begin with, there may be many species of animals in zoos, so people can discover new animals. As a result, visiting animals in zoos can improve visitors’ knowledge about animals and help them relax after study or work. For example, kindergartens or primary schools usually organize many trips to visit zoos in experiential activities. Moreover, rare animals can be conserved in zoos. The main reason is that zoos are safe places for animals because there are no predators and hunters that find them to kill them. For example, in China, pandas are going to be extinct so they are taken to zoos to be looked after. In conclusion, while keeping animals in zoos can have some demerits regarding animals not being able to adapt to living in the zoo and being exploited, I am firmly convinced that the merits in terms of people being able to discover animals and rare animals being conserved are weightier.