Homelessness is increasing in many major cities around the world. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what measures could be taken.

Homelessness is becoming more significant in a lot of big cities across the globe. In my opinion addiction and overpopulation are one of the main catalysts of the trouble. To begin with, it would be logical to look deeper into the origin of the issue. Firstly, alcoholics, drug addicts, etc. are prone to spending the whole of their budget on the substance that they are addicted to, then obtaining loans which they will not be able to pay. Additionally, it couples with the inability to work due to their condition. As a result, their home may be confiscated to pay off the debts, thus, making an addict homeless. Secondly, there is not enough living space to house everyone in the city. This cause mainly comes from a massive migration of poorer populations who seek better opportunities. This problem needs attention from authorities. The government should prevent as many people from getting addicted. For instance, the advertisement of products, such as alcoholic drinks and cigarettes needs to be prohibited. It has already been done in Russia where a beer company can only promote their non-alcoholic beverages. Although the measure might reduce rates of addiction in the long term, this will not solve the problem entirely. In addition, more houses should be built to tackle the migration with apartments in them being sold for the cheap price so that everyone could afford it. For example, the state can subsidise the projects made by developer companies. However, the costs of buildings need to be minimised, because a lot of flats will be required to build. This can help the homeless get access to basic requirements, such as shelter and hygiene. In conclusion, banning the advertisement of addictive substances along with making cheap buildings will not solve the problem entirely, although, it can make a positive contribution to reducing the number of homeless people. Hence, the state ought to consider these potential solutions.