In some cultures, children are often told that they can achive anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this messages?

It is true that in some communities with different cultures, people tell their children to make every effort to achieve whatever they want. This way of upbringing has several advantages and disadvantages which will be discussed in the following essay. On one hand, telling children to do their best to obtain profits, has a variety of benefits for them. Firstly, childhood is the best period of humans' life to learn and be taught and children are ready to accept each right behaviour such as hard work, respect for the elderly etc. So, they will keep them in their mind until the end of their life and follow them. Secondly, when they try hard to reach something, in the end they will know the value of that thing and how much it is worth. For instance, when a young child earns money himself, he will not throw it around and waste it. Finally, they will understand how enjoyable it is to get something with difficulty. On the other hand, adults should not have any expectation from children to act older than their ages and have mature behaviour because it may have opposite consequences. Furthermore, at these ages, parents not only should not force their children to do something, but also should support them and let them live their childhood and learn from their mistakes. Hence, kids should not be worried about any effort or attempt from an early age and they must focus on playing and studying. In conclusion, telling children about trying hard to obtain whatever they want from the beginning of their childhood, has both advantages and disadvantages.