The death penalty is a contentious issue in many states and countries around the world. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the death penalty is a polemic subject in different countries around the world. I strongly believe that the drawbacks surpass the benefits. The main reason I do not support the death penalty is because of the practical results on the reduction of criminality. It is well known that there are numerous studies prooving that the reduction of crimes do not decrease with death sentence, thus, they are not related. For instance, it is possible to find cities where the death penalty had a positive impact in United States, but also cities where the violence increased. Furthermore, the death penalty has a direct impact at the economy of the states. To implement the death penalty policy is quite expensive, not only because of the taxes, but also the maintenance of the structure. For example, cities would have to pay high taxes for the government instead of investing in solutions to solve the crime problem. However, it is also impportant to mention that the death sentence can reduce critical crimes to society. There is no question that the death sentence causes some kind of fear in people. For example, those who intend to execute crimes such as killing and rape. In conclusion, I believe that the negative aspects of death penalty exceed the positive aspects, not only because of there is no relation between this kind of sentence and the reduction of criminality, but also because of the negative impact at the local economy. On the other hand, it is argued that the death penalty can cause a fear effect on some individuals, and reduce some specific crimes.