More and more families have computers in their homes. What advantages and disadvantages do home computers have for children? Should parents restrict the amount of time their children spend using the computer?

It is quite common these days for a lot of families to have computers in their homes and some people believe that should parents restrict the amount of time their children spend using the computer. This essay will discuss the benefits, and drawbacks of this trend and personally, I completely disagree with this view for a variety of reasons. There are some benefits and drawbacks that computers have for children. On the one hand, there are several reasons why families having computers in their homes is beneficial. A common reason is that the computer can help children study easily. This is because, nowadays, there are a lot of software the computer can help children learn better such as a combo of Microsoft Office: Word, Excel, and PowerPoint. It is very helpful to present ideas more easily. On the other hand, there are a number of disadvantages of computers that people should take into account. One obvious drawback is that children can use computers to play video games leading to the result in study decrease. For example, last week, my uncle decided to sell his computer just because his son played video games all day and got low scores in school. I completely disagree that should parents restrict the amount of time their children spend using the computer. Firstly, their children do not have enough time to study. This means that, when parents restrict the time their children spend using the computer, their children have to study quickly which leads to them don't understand lessons deeply. In fact, modern social lessons need more time to be analysed and understood correctly. Secondly, their children cannot use software on a computer professional. This is because they don't have time to practice and they will have some difficulties using them when they need them in the future. For example, I learned software when I was a kid and now it is very helpful when I study at university. In conclusion, home computers for children could bring about certain benefits, but their negative consequences should not be overlooked. In my opinion, parents should have some suitable solutions for the time spent on computers to help children study better.