Online shopping is now replacing shopping in the store. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Technological advancement eases the way for consumers to buy their products effortlessly through e-commerce platforms. While such developments have some beneficial aspects including efficient time management and environment conservation,there are some detrimental aspects such as quality assurance and financial issues for the owners of the shopping malls. The essay aims to discuss the concerned issues and give a concluding opinion. There are numerous favouable impacts of online shopping towards our routine purchasing. The primary benefit which a consumer can achieve from internet shopping is that it enables us to buy our desirable products without visiting the supermall and from a variety of different brands. For example, reputed e-commerce platforms like Amazon and Flipcart have in their collection a wide range of products from all famous organizations which also carry product descriptions in their website. These empower consumers to choose their desirable commodity of the best quality. Another notable assistance which could be achieved through online shopping is that it can contribute to carbon emissions from the globe. If the customers need to visit the physical shop, there would be less use of fuel through motor vehicles which is one of the major sources of greenhouse gases. Therefore, the beneficial outcomes of internet purchasing are quite persuasive. However, such types of transactions are not free of any detrimental effects and counterarguments can be put forward. The distinguished negative impact of online shopping is on the owners of running shopping malls. As consumers nowadays tend to shop more through internet platforms, many well-known town centres are facing injury in their businesses which will eventually create employment problems for the concerned areas. Examples can be seen in the USA where many sell executives have recently lost their jobs because of failing to meet their profit targets. Moreover, quality assurance of some products could not be possible through ecommerce transactions. To take for instance, products like shoes and jackets often require measurements which is not feasible without physical shopping. To summarize, it seems that the beneficial aspects of online shopping outshine the negative impacts. It seems more logical to assert that irrespective of some particular products, this type of shopping can be advantageous for consumers.