One of the major issues facing the world today is overpopulation. What problems arise from this situation? What measures can be taken to deal with this?

Nowadays, overpopulation is one of the biggest problem in many countries. This essay will discuss the negative issues associated to this, and also what can be done to solve it. There are two main drawbacks related to the increase in population. One of these is that there is not enough food to support the current amount of people around the world. It is well known that the food production in many countries does not have capacity to increase. For instance, we already have states in Brazil where the food supply does not support the demand. Furthermore, energy is also a huge problem when talking about overpopulation. The world is short in supply of fossil energy. For example, the Europe is passing through an energetic crisis since the beginning of the century. However, there are some possible solutions for those statements. Agriculture is facing a new era of technology, and the efficiency of food production is growing fast. For instance, we already have available technology to duplicate de production of cereal farms. Moreover, green energy has been an option for those countries that do not have other energetic alternatives. For example, wind and solar energy are becoming very popular in countries like India, where the population is growing fast, and they do not have traditional options of energy supply. In conclusion, the lack of food and energy are the main downsides of increasing in population. Nevertheless, we already have technology to help the farmers enhance their production, and the green energy is becoming an alternative in many countries.