In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Most people believe that the ageing population could have a negative impact on the nations while others opine conversely. I personally think that the benefits of the populace aged 60 or above will bring social and economic impact to the country they live in. Generally, older generations have to deal with retirement owing to the government’s regulations due to age riskiness. However, they can still contribute to the nation’s economy by doing certain jobs as long as they still have the willingness to work and receive eligibility from the government. For example, the majority of elderly people in Japan are still actively working as social workers, such as public transportations drivers, road sweepers, and gardeners. Hence, these facts support the advantages of having boomers generations that could still contribute an economic value for the government rather than being considered as the non-productive population. In addition, the older populace is part of businesses’ target market since they have to fulfil their needs which makes them an active spender. For instance, hospitals and nursery services in Japan experienced a rise in their revenue due to the ageing community in the last 5 years. This finding aligns with the previous case that shows elders’ competency to earn money, which in return, makes them able to purchase their daily needs. Overall, having an ageing populace could give more positive impact rather than drawbacks for the governments as long as they are being empowered by the regulators. Therefore, the empowered elderly will contribute a positive economic value unless there are sufficient supports by the nation’s regulation.