Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently with fast evolving technology, an increasing number of firms are holding meetings or training sessions online. In my opinion, that has more benefits than downsides. Firstly, holding online meetings and discussions instead of traditional face-to-face format might be affected by many different factors such as internet or device issues. For example, when an unstable internet connection causes a conference to be interrupted, participants are unable to continuously monitor the meeting and affect work progress. Furthermore, online meetings are typically more comfortable than regular meetings since attendees can choose their own workspace and do other personal things, which may prevent them from completely concentrating on the conference. For example, people may attend a discussion while eating, surfing the web or cleaning the house, which can impair their capacity to grasp and remember all the necessary content. However, in addition to these disadvantages, putting the advancements in information technology to work has numerous other advantages. Nowadays, most applications for organizing online meetings include the ability to record and save meetings, so that if the internet connection is unstable leads the meeting is interrupted or lost midway through, attendees can review recordings that have been saved in their device's memory. This allows people to watch the conference’s progress and completely recall essential information. On the other hand, when businesses conduct online training, their employees will feel more at ease, as there will less pressure than in traditional training because they may freely choose their favorite workspace and simply join meetings from anywhere are. This will allow people to better organize their time and work, reducing stress and increasing productivity. In conclusion, although arranging online meetings, conversations and training for businesses today may have certain downsides, I believe it has many more positives.