In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays, people store knowledge on the internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The concept of using books as a knowledge container was prevalent in the past, however, the shift to the internet nowadays is now viewed as an alternative to traditional books. While this development has admittedly drawbacks, I would contend that these are overshadowed by the benefits. Granted, storing knowledge in physical books is advantageous to a certain extent. Foremost among these is that information contained in books must undergo a rigorous censorship process before publishing to readers. This process helps ensure the reliability of the knowledge that could minimise misinformation, particularly for children who may acquire misleading information inadvertently sometimes if their parents do not supervise them closely. Not only do books serve their readers an intangible value, such as cultural pride or reminiscing about historical events, but also familiar to a certain generation as a source of learning. Since older people might find it too complex to access the internet for knowledge acquisition; hence, traditional books will be appropriate for them with the company of censored information. Despite the aforementioned arguments, I am convinced that the cons of this development pale in comparison with its pros. Indeed, a wide array of accessibility to online information provided they have an electrical device and network connection. This advancement will be inclined to approach other generations, whether young or middle-aged. Compared to the use of books, which might seem less appealing to them, the shift could result in higher awareness amongst the general public as a whole. Furthermore, theoretical knowledge might be boring and difficult to comprehend sometimes, let alone presented in texts and some images. With the technology development, a litany of different forms catering to people, such as videos, TV shows or podcasts can maximise the audience’s experience with more attractive animations and creative content that are easy to contemplate. For instance, while knowledge of history was traditionally documented in books, in this day and age, many YouTube channels or other social media platforms use advanced technology to vividly recreate these historical contexts, making them far more engaging and accessible. Younger generations can also foster a sense of curiosity, making it desirable to learn and discover more aspects of life consequently. In conclusion, although physical books present certified knowledge and familiar tools beneficial to consumers, I am of the opinion that the improvement to preserving knowledge on the internet is far more plausible.