Many believe that the best way to ensure a happier society is to reduce the difference in income earnings between the rich and poor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people assume that reducing the difference in wages between the wealthy and the poor is the best way to establish a happier society. Personally, I completely disagree with this statement, and in this essay, I will explain why I believe so. First and foremost, it is my conviction that reducing income differences is almost impossible to accomplish because of humanity's greediness and avarice. I believe that some people will refuse to exchange their comfortable lives with high incomes for moral values and possible happiness in society, lowering their standards of living several times. As a result, people working for the government or other individuals with power will pretend to have the same salary as ordinary people while bribes and nepotism will be common among them. Hence, people with middle income, seeing such discrimination will become distressed and sad. Second of all, even if it is possible to successfully establish a system of equal earnings it may still make people unhappy. To clarify, in case of real equal pay the job that demands more effort and high skills will be paid almost the same as a job with less mental work required. Therefore, there is going to be a loss of motivation among prestigious careers workers such as engineers, IT specialists or doctors, because there will be no point in endeavouring to work hard if a janitor or cashier can get the same salary and can afford a comfortable life. Thus, such unfairness can lead to one’s depression and overall society unhappiness. All things considered, in my opinion reducing the difference in income earnings will not lead to anything resembling happiness. This concept will either not work at all, causing corruption in society, or will make people unhappy and unmotivated.