Some school leavers go traveling or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. Do you think this has more advantages or disadvantages on their study?

Deciding whether to embark on a period of travel or work before attending university is a choice that comes with advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, the benefits of such a gap year outweigh the drawbacks.   It is true that there are several potential downsides of taking gap years. Perhaps the most direct impact is the interruption of academic studies. With the rapidly evolving nature of knowledge and information, some people might find it challenging to readjust to an academic environment after a temporary leave. Furthermore, traveling will undoubtedly create financial burden for some youngsters, as they must cover their travel expenses without the support of student loans or grants. There is also the risk of not being able to return for their studies after a gap year, which might hinder their long-term career development. On the other hand, taking a gap year can offer numerous advantages for students knowing how to plan their career. Gap year is a period of time given for individuals to replenish their mind for better career decisions. By either working or traveling, people earn valuable opportunities to gain real-world experiences, and even develop essential life skills and improve their problem-solving abilities. Instead of attending university without knowing what they should do, a gap year offers invaluable experiences for individuals that can remarkably enrich students’ university experiences and reinforce their confidence in their chosen career paths. With a clear career path in mind, the driving force and motivation to learn and adapt to the academic environment will be unstoppable.   In conclusion, despite several potential drawbacks, I am convinced that the advantages of taking gap years far outweigh the disadvantages for career -orientated students.