Deforestation has been an increasing problem over the last few decades. What are the primary causes of deforestation? How can we solve the problem?

It has been widely recognized that there is an increasing number of deforestation in the last decades. I believe that industrial expansion is the root cause of the problem and we need to regulate them to minimize the consequences. The problem that needs to be considered is that plant-based industries that emerge in many countries, that are rich with rainforest, are demanding more space to increase their production. That happens because the demand for foods, beverages and other plant-based goods are growing since the population in many new metropolitan cities are multiplying. For example the request for palm oil in Jakarta, has risen ten times since 2010 to 2020 as the changing diets of 1 million people that is now emphasis more on the fried foods. As a consequence, the manufacturer has to expand their agricultural land so they can grow more crops and fulfill the demands. The possible solution to this subject is the new regulation that actively puts constraints for goods to be requested. With this formal step, we can control the industrial expansion by limiting the amount of the consumer. Furthermore, society have to adapt by incorporating new creative ways of consumption. For example, people can create new dishes following the availability of the raw material in the market such as in the year 1980, Indonesia, when rice became the main dish replacing potatoes and creating a lot of new food such as fried rice, yellow rice, etc. With this move, manufacturers do not have to expand their factories unless the government considers otherwise. In conclusion, the issue of deforestation has been caused by uncoordinated expansion of plantation for manufacture as a response to the high demand for plant-based goods. This can be turned down as the government can regulate the demand.