It has been believed that people reading for pleasure have developed better imagination and language skills than people who prefer to watch TV. Do you agree or disagree?

Reading has long been considered as the superb tool to foster individual’s imaginative ability and linguistic competence. I completely agree with this perspective and I am convinced that the benefits of reading far outweigh watching television. It is true that reading is the best way to nourish one’s mind and allows individuals to cultivate numerous skills. Firstly, people could never read a book without imagination, as it does not provide visual assitance. It is always mesmerizing that books are capable of teleporting readers into their own imaginative world. For instance, the Harry Potter novels transported readers worldwide into an incredible magical realm, a world that could take on any form readers desired, before the movies came out which solidfied solidifies people’s imagination and interpretations. Furthermore, there’s no better way to improve our linguistic competence than acquiring genuine foreign language expression by reading books. Thus, it is undeniable that reading is an indispensable part of our lives that flourishes our imagination and language skills. In contrast, while watching TV has occupied the vast amount of our leisure time, I contend that its positive impact is limited. Movies and dramas show exactly what the creator intend to convey, which give us limited room for imagination, as we absorb whatever message that is given through visual and sound input. Although it is true that people consider watching TV programs and dramas a convinent method to improve foreign language listening skills, this practice is far less crucial than developing authentic foreign language proficiency through reading literature. In conclusion, I personally believe that the enhancement of individuals' imagination and language skills through reading surpasses the benefits of watching television.