In some countries today, children are taught from a young age that competition is important and that winning is everything. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Many are currently holding the view that youngsters should be instructed the importance of competition and winning in some parts of the world. While I understand this trend might benefit children at their adult life, I believe the negatives would far outweigh the positive. There are several advantages why young people should learn how essential the competition and winning are. Firstly, as victory was set to be the first priority, this objective is more likely to push children to the limit and therefore they can come up with many creative ideas, which encourage them to outplay their opponents during competition. As a result, this idea can contribute to boosting their creativity and confidence at the later stage of their life. Secondly, an amount of achievement the young gain from competition can also make way for their brighter future. For example, if high school students win a national academic tournament named “Path to Olympia” in Vietnam, they will be immediately offered a full scholarship from top 20 Australian universities. However, this trend might be disadvantageous in several ways. The very first and utter reason is that since the mindset is winning by all cost, those who do not achieve high academic performance at school can use any means to win even cheating at exams. This repeating action would gradually drag youngsters into a dark way and likely turn them into criminals as adults. The second rationale is that if children achieve many awards at a very young age, they might become over confidence and even arrogance, which might lead them to the fact that they will have less motivation to broad their horizons in the future. The final reason is that leadership and teamwork skills should be taught as crucial as winning. Those abilities will facilitate young people in new working settings requiring cooperation. In conclusion, it is understandable that individuals should be guided wining is necessary in every competition. However, drawbacks of this trend might be far worse than benefits.