Art classes, such as painting and drawing, are important to a child’s development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high schools. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

2 Because of having profound impact on children’s growth, whether are classes ought to be compulsory for high schools’ students or not is a controversial problem. Although it affects seriously on a child’s development, this writer disagrees with this idea due to wasting time and difficult future career. It is acknowledged that learning arts in high school is time -consuming. As students in high schools have various tasks and homework to do, adding a subject might put more pressure on them. Furthermore, studying in senior institution relates to future career, so that teenagers need more time and concentration on their main subjects instead of painting or drawing. Taking Vietnam as an example, most high schools focus on fundamental skills, such as literacy and numeracy, but do not have time for arts. Therefore, art classes take students time which they can use for other valuable activities. However, some supporters argue that arts help the young to be more creative, in other words, they can develop their creativity and ordinary. Additionally, students are able to express their feelings and reduce negative emotions. Although this opinion has its own right, schools also organize outdoor activities for people to take a rest and encourage social skills. Thus, it is unnecessary to force students to learn arts. Another reason needs to be understood is that there are not many well-paid occupations for artists. Because the amount of jobs and a good working condition for arts are quite rare, many learners do not choose to go for them and prefer practical ones, for instant, finance or medical. According to a survey in Ho Chi Minh city, the job having the highest number of employees relates to finance. Hence, art classes are not a prior choice for students to focus on. Taking all into consideration, art classes should not be a compulsory subject. However, schools still need to hold artistic activities to develop potential abilities of students.