Topic: People are living in a “throw-away society”, using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

In today's world, there has been a widespread trend so-called the "throw-away culture". Products are being used and thrown away shortly. It is believed that there are certain reasons behind this inclination. The paragraphs below will analyze the causes and effects of that current trend. The first cause is consumerism. Specifically, people are buying unnecessary things to satisfy their needs. For instance, young generations tend to replace their current usable iPhone with the latest similar model. This action has led to an increase in electrical waste, which makes the world's garbage sites grow bigger and even takes up the living space of the residents nearby. Moreover, some mobile phones that end up in the trash still contain batteries inside. Eventually, these batteries will emit harmful radioactive and contaminate the soil. Another factor contributing to forming the "throw-away culture" is personal desire. Notably, some people own luxurious, rather than useful, products solely to enhance their social status and show off their pride. For example, some celebrities possess tiny handbags which can hardly contain their personal belongings mainly because they come from brand names. These fashionable items will quickly be out-of-date and then be gotten rid of. Such actions by celebrities have had an impact on their fans' behaviour. It means that their supporters will get a similar item to post a photo on social media, claiming that they are huge passionate fans. To summarise, the behaviour of humans buying and throwing away their stuff quickly results from the consumerism trend and the impact of social influencers. Such a culture has become alarmingly negative, as it enlarges the global trash area and encourages purposeless purchases.