As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Businesses have always sought to make a profit, but it is becoming increasingly common to hear people talk about the social obligations that companies have. I completely agree that businesses should do more for society than make money. On the one hand, I accept that businesses must make money to survive in a competitive world. The priority of any company should be to cover its running costs, such as employees' wages and payments for buildings and utilities. On top of these costs, companies also need to invest in improvements and innovations if they wish to remain successful. If a company cannot pay its bills or meet customers' changing needs, any concerns about social responsibilities become irrelevant. In other words, a company can only positively contribute to society in good financial health. On the other hand, companies should not be run to maximize profit; they have a broader role to play in society. Owners and managers have a social obligation to treat their employees well rather than exploit them. For example, they could pay a "living wage" to ensure workers have a good quality of life. I also like the idea that businesses could use a proportion of their profits to support local charities, environmental projects, or education initiatives. Finally, instead of trying to minimize their tax payments by using accounting loopholes, company bosses should be happy to contribute to society through the tax system. In conclusion, companies should place as much importance on their social responsibilities as they do on their financial objectives.