Reading for pleasure can develop imagination and language skills better than watching TV. To what extent you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, whether reading for joy or watching television can have a greater impact on people's creative and linguistic skills is a hotly debatable topic. To my mind, I completely agree that one's imaginative and language abilities can be enhanced more effectively through reading books. Firstly, books offer a wider range of vocabulary and language usage. While many novels contain academic words and complicated grammatical structures, reality shows often have simplified conversations and lack depth. For instance, most words heard on the screen are slang or even swear words; thus, they contribute nothing to enrich our knowledge. That is why people's imagination is better enhanced through book reading. Secondly, reading allows more active engagement with the material. If TV programmes present viewers with vivid animated figures, books are in contrast. For instance, by following the story through chapters, readers can visualise the main characters with specific notes about their appearance. This cannot be done by watching the media. In addition, turning pages is considered a more active activity. As a result, our brain must always brainstorm to understand what is going on in the article. The opposite goes for looking at the screen, which is a, rather lazy, passive pursuit. To summarise, watching TV is an excellent way to kill time and entertain. Yet, it does not bring as many benefits as book reading does. From my perspective, browsing through texts helps encourage imagination and also broadens one's vocabulary and language sense more than eyeing the screen.