The efficient functioning of society is based on rules and laws. Society would not function well if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Rules and laws are basic contributors to maintaining a society's order and efficiency, so some people argue that individual behaviours should be restricted under their frame. Otherwise, the society would face the risk of chaos and disorder. From my perspective, I am in favour of the opinion, believing that we should follow social norms and legal restrictions to keep our community up and running in a proper manner. On the one hand, freedom is the birthright for everyone, which entitles us to do anything we are willing to. For example, every citizen has the right to choose where they want to settle down in the country, without limitations and discrimination. Also, we should be able to be free to vote for any candidate favoured by us in the election campaign. In this way can we enjoy equality and democracy brought by freedom. By contrast, it may become chaotic and unstable if the government infringes on personal freedoms. On the other hand, the unlimited rights of individuals will pose a threat to the stability and safety of our neighbourhoods. Rules and laws in the nation are well-accepted by most citizens, which function as a powerful tool protecting our rights and freedom from being violated. For one thing, regulations and decrees in the country are able to make innocent people immune to crimes and violence, which is the cornerstone of social stabilization. For another, unrestrained personal behaviours will result in dangers and chaotic lives in the community. For example, overspeed driving is a major contributor to car accidents blamed for many casualties every year, the government has to set regulations for driving. In conclusion, individual freedom is by no means of empowering us to do everything at will, which must follow the social and legal order as a premise of bringing our freedoms into full play.