Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.

The death penalty can be considered a controversial issue. Many people would oppose this punishment, even though, it also counts with a huge number of supporters. In my opinion, this old method registers advantages and disadvantages, being the disadvantages horrific from a humanistic point of view. A big proportion of human beings find capital punishment effective in terms of applying justice to those who commit crimes. However, we have to think in a deeper way about what would this practice suppose for our community. Undoubtedly, humans who do not obey the law have to suffer some consequences, but putting an end to their lives may not be the solution. For example, the mentioned procedure does not help human beings to learn from their mistakes, taking away the chance to improve. Indeed, the execution of criminals also causes problems for the families of the vandals. If we tend to be empathetic, this kind of practice should never become legal in any country or state. Contrary to the opinion of looking for the wealth of every person, this issue is said to have advantages when implemented in modern society. The main strong point for the defence of the positive effects lies in fear. In other words, anyone that would plan a vandal act in a world where capital punishment is applied, may not commit it because the realization of the act would end in decease. Furthermore, prisons would count fewer people, which impacts positively the economy of a state. To sum up, the death penalty is a complicated topic due to its positive and negative effects. However, I think we should never forget to be sensitive human beings, that try to understand other situations and on a general basis should act from the feeling of love and acceptance.