Some people believe that it is cruel to test drugs and other new products on animals. Others believe that this sort of testing is important and necessary for improving and even saving people’s lives. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals are of the opinion that it would be an act of wickedness to determine the effects of medicines and newly manufactured materials on animals because it's a form of abuse and could lead to extinction of animals. However,some people disagree to this fact and believe that it would help save people and improve health. In my own view,I am of the opinion that, testing drugs on animals is very essential as it would prevent outbreak of diseases and loss of lives. To begin with, As animals are also a form of living things,it would be cruel to use them as a tool for research making them vulnerable to different adverse effects caused by products or drugs used on them and can also lead to extinction of some species because they are used for specimens. For example,A research finding showed that a particular breed of dogs are no longer in existence because they were used for research purposes. Also,Testing newly produced products and medicines on animals would help to prevent increase in the fatality rate of humans and adverse effects produced by the drugs. For example,An anti-cancer drug was tested on a dog and it helped to detect an over dose in one of the ingredients used in its production and it could have resulted into lots of casualties such as sudden death in human beings. Furthermore,I am of the opinion that its not a bad idea to try products out on animals as they are mainly for food production,so it wouldn't be very detrimental if some animals die during the process. In Conclusion,Using new drugs or products on animals could help prevent loss of lives. On the other hand,it could lead to extinction of some species.