In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

The past few years, a large number of small and local shops have been replaced by huge shopping centers and malls as costumers seem to prefer them. While I acknowledge that there are many drawbacks from this growth, I would argue that the benefits are more significant. To begin with, this phenomenon caused increase of employment on the grounds that many businesses opened. To illustrate this, as long as consumers choose to do their purchases at malls, businesses hire more staff giving to plenty of individuals the opportunity to work. Besides, the economy of society will be improved on the grounds that more taxes would be paid to government since people spend more than they used to do at shopping arrangements. Furthermore, this development gives to citizens the opportunity to socialize and ameliorate their mental health. For instance, nowadays many people due to their strict daily routine do not have much time to meet their friends and go shopping, that’s why they prefer to stay in and shop online rather than going out. However, in large shopping centers everything it is nearby and make the experience short and amusement. In conclusion, I believe that everything makes their cycle and nothing last for a very long time. Malls and shopping centers are the development of locals and small business and are adjusted to society’s needs. We should not be worried when something is changing, quite opposite, we should consider about the advantages and new opportunities the changes will bring to out lives.