Many people believe social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

Social networking sites has been widely used and followed by everyone though it be a kid, youngster or old aged professional. Social media has become part of our everyday routine. where it is often argued that social media usage has its positive aspect in terms of increasing opportunities as well as a source of entertainment. But I believe that both individuals as well as society are badly affected by the usage of social media platforms. Firstly, the usage of social networking sites is a complete waste of time and efforts. In other words, it has grabbed us badly in our everyday lives as individuals use Facebook for countless hours without any purpose but the watching of videos and continuous scrolling has not only negatively shifted their focus from work/ studies but also badly manipulated the society norms and values. For example, in a recent research of developing countries it is evident that students waste 70% of their free time on usage of social media sites instead of focusing on productive activities. In addition to this, increasing usage of Facebook has led people to be involved in unethical and criminal activities such as robbery, snatching of other belongings since these negative videos and activities are being watched by people which trigger individuals to act the same in their life. For instance, many young individuals in Asian countries left their job and started earning the live hood through house robbery and street snatching. All in all, social networking sites has immensely grasp us since it is considered a waste of time and efforts and also increasing usage of social media platforms will influence the illegal activities.