In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

In this contemporary era, using synthetic chemicals that make the skin tone lighter is an ongoing trend in several regions around the globe. This is primarily due to a general preference of white individuals in certain areas which, in turn, increases the purchasing tendency of these items. Nevertheless, these chemicals have a negative impact on the physical health of consumers and will lead to dire consequences in the long-term future. To embark on, there is a traditional notion among commoners, particularly, those who live in popular regions that in order to meet the beauty standards, individuals, particularly women, have to be white in color. To illustrate, numerous number of males prefer to get married to a white femal because they have raised to consider the white skin tone as a main beauty criteria. Accordingly, this way of thinking put females in those societies under consistent pressure to light their skin by any measure. Eventually, they tend to consume a large amount of whitening materials without paying attention to the consequences of these materials. For instance, in Iraq, there is a high consumption rate of lightening items in some popular societies because over there the society prefer white individuals over colored ones. However, whitening products are mainly made of steroids which, in turn, have a detrimental impact on the physical well-being of costumers. In other words, steroid is a drug that mainly used to treat patients with adrenal gland insufficiency, but one of its side effects is hypopigmentation. As a result, some cosmetic companies have been using this drug as a main ingredient of its topical products to reduce the pigmentation of skin. However, prolonged exposure to steroid will activate other side effects such as adrenal crisis, hypertension, and phycosis. This can be exemplified by research papers carried out by a group of Iraqi dermatologists that revealed approximately two-thirds of females who have been on topical steroids for a quite long period are suffering from uncontrolled blood pressure and are unable to cope with stress. In conclusion, after this essay has reiterated the above-mentioned points, it can be assumed that certain beauty standards who prefer white individuals over colored individuals are the main culprit of this phenomenon, and this will cause serious health complications in the foreseeable future due to the harmful ingredients of these products.