The best way to help under-achieving pupils is to have compulsory after school activities which they must attend. This way they will become more involved in schools and their grades will improve. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays it is believed by some people that to enhance pupil's grades and to make them involved in the spirit of schools, it is needed to create mandatory activities that they must visit. In my opinion, it could be beneficial in some way, however, it is also could badly affect on mental health. To begin with, various courses could be very reasonable if it is needed to improve students' attitude towards schools. Firstly, adolescents would have an opportunity to spend their free time on something useful and interesting for them. Secondly, when young people are engaged in such activities, for example, sports games in educational institutions, they will find new friends and they will acquire the spirit of cohesion by supporting common team. Thus, it would be interesting for youngsters to attend extracurricular events because of new acquaintances. In this way, they will be more involved in educational institutions. On the other hand, mandatory sections could exacerbate the situation. Some under-achieving students get bad marks as they get tired of a lot of hours of learning. Therefore, compulsory lessons could have a bad influence on academic performance. What is more, some children are not involved in schools because of a negative ambience. Peers can bully each other so teenagers do not want to stay at school for long. It would be more reasonable to create a friendly environment rather than to add more classes. In conclusion, I believe that a lot of steps should be done to improve pupils' attitude and adding compulsory courses is not enough.