Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

With the rapid technological advancements, it indeed appears that our younger generation are more exposed to technology, especially smartphones. This habitual changes have both positive and negative effects on the children itself and this essay will discuss about this.issue. One positive side about this phenomenon is it can increase the number of younger generations that technological savvy. This trait is very important to facing the world with such a rapid technological advancement. Moreover, there will be more career opportunity in the future that heavily related with technology, such as AI, programming, IoT, etc, and become technological savvy since earlier age will help them to prepare for those kinds of opportunities if they are aspired to have a career on technological sector. On the other side, this habit can lead to addiction. Some children show tantrum attitude when they are away from smartphones. This can lead to abysmal communication skills between children who addicted to smartphone because they do not taught how to communicate properly with other people. Furthermore, the smartphone addiction on children can lead to several health issues, such as visual impairment due to their exposed eyes to screen for long time. Moreover, smartphone screen also produces some radiation that also can harm our body if we get exposed for a long time. For babies, there are research that stated baby who get exposed to smartphone since their earlier days will have some speaking difficulty. In conclusion, smartphones on kids are having both positives and negative effect. Therefore, it is their parents responsibilities to make sure their children are controlled and use the technology, especially smartphone for their own development and improvement.